I am adopted or I was adopted?

I saw this question in a facebook group, and I’m going to tell you what I think about this.

Don’t let adoption define who you are, if you say I’m adopted it’s always been like saying that you have a disease. And when I’ve said that to someone it has felt so wrong. People will treat you wrong and ask you things or look at you in a different way.

I would chose to say I was adopted, like adoption is a part of the past. You’ve been through a lot (or not) that made you to the person you are. But in some cases I just say I’m from Colombia, not that I’m adopted because if I tell them that, they will not see ma as colombian nor Swedish or they will see me like a swede when I’m feeling more colombian.

Leave a Reply

