Lucia

So in my dear Sweden we are celebraiting something called Lucia. The 13th of December people are singing with lights in their hands and the person who are first in this train of people in white dresses is the “Lucia”. The Lucia has candles in the hair while the other people have candles in their hands.

lucia_0

I got two things to talk about this.

  1.  I’m singing in a choir and I’m going to be a part of this celebration. The last time I was a part of this I was twelve years old. It feels very weird to wear a white dress since it looks like something you sleep in. Except that I’m very nervous since my siblings are coming to dear Varberg just to watch me. And yeah I begged them to come and see me so I can’t complain.
  2. A swedish company (clothes) shared a pic of a child in this kind of dress. The child was a black boy….and the haters started to hating on this poor boy. The racists started to hate about that he had the wrong skin color. And other people started to hate because it was a boy. I mean come on ! It is a stupid tradition, nobody cared about it before so why do it now? And it is a free country, people are allowed to do what they want and be who they are, no matter skin color or gender.

bild-2016-12-06-kl-15-20I kind of look like Lucia right? Right now there are a campaign in Sweden called #IAmLucia

And maybe you’ll get a pic of me in that awkward dress.

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close