I watched a documentary yesterday about people who were adopted and when they talked about the bad parts, the parts that can be hard to talk about. I recognised myself so much, so I started to cry.

My mom (adoptive mom) called me when I was on my way to my apartment from the kindergarten and she told me that she watched the documentary, she said “maybe they are very negative…” and I said “yeah but very often people always see and hear the good things about adoption”. She told me about one in the documentary who had four children and was adopted from Colombia, her parents gave her the adoption papers on her 18th birthday. Both me and my mom talked about how bad that was by them. They kept a big secret about her and she had to take in all information when she was 18. This woman when she was depressed they told her that she had everything: husband, children, a home and food on the table so why did he even feel depressed. It was like they didn’t even support her at all. The thing that made me very angry and upset is that the father didn’t even want to go to Colombia and discover the country with her… why? because he wasn’t interested about that, he didn’t even think about being there for his daughter.

That’s why I’m very thankful that my parents had supported as much as they could. I remember when I was in Colombia for the first time and I cried like a baby every night and even though my dad din’t understood because I didn’t speak to him, he was there so I could know that he was never going to leave me. My mom (adoptive mom ) is a rock, she talks with us (me and my siblings) about adoption, she support me with money when I want to go to Colombia and the best of all I can talk with both of them about adoption.

13439055_10208600827491528_3271417909508288143_n.jpg

I think this photo says it all. It was taken after we had the big reunion with my family, my brothers family, my sisters family (both mom and dad) and of course my a- mom and dad. I don’t know why but I started to cry when I had to say goodbye to Jhon (even though I was going to stay in Colombia one more week with my bio-family). The whole evening was very emotional and I just wanted to be with my mom for the rest of the day.

Leave a Reply

